Frijoles

Beans make me so happy. They are cheap, nutritious, plentiful, and delicious. Delicious. I soak beans overnight, cook them in my pressure cooker, and freeze them in zippy bags. For the last year, the legumes we’ve eaten most often are chickpeas, black beans, and red lentils.

A couple of days ago, I wanted rice and beans for dinner and I didn’t have a lot of time, so I did the following:

  • Saute chopped onion and garlic in olive oil
  • Add ground cumin, cayenne pepper, bouillon cube, and salt 
  • After this cooks for a little bit, add black beans
  • Pour in some boiling water and stir
  • I let this cook for a bit until it was creamy and hot
  • Adjust seasoning

The only vegetable we had in the house was a bunch of celery, so I sautéed it and chopped a tomato to accompany the beans and rice. This meal was beautifully satisfying.

beans and rice

Leave a Reply

