Archive for October 14, 2009

Salad love

When Shane and I visited the UK and Ireland last summer, we noticed a certain tendency towards adding a pile of salad to plates in restaurants and cafes. Now, ‘salad’ is a loose term. Here, it generally means a hodge-podge of moderately crunchy things with lots of mayonnaise. Sometimes you’ll find beans in a salad. Sometimes they are dressed with vinaigrette. It is also quite difficult to avoid red onions. Which I dislike. Coleslaw is ubiquitous in Ireland. I’ve a friend who particularly enjoys coleslaw and cheese sandwiches, and nobody gives her a funny look when she orders it.

I spent a day in Brighton this past June, and I wandered into one of the many vegetarian places. I ordered a take away bowl of various salads. I just asked for all the vegan ones (there was plenty of mayo on the others) and they were piled in my bowl. Despite the red onions, it was pretty tasty.

Brighton

Comments (2) »