Chocolate Cake

My mother often made what she called Wacky Cake when I was growing up, and still does sometimes. It was always her go-to chocolate cake and it’s the basic vegan soda/vinegar/oil chocolate cake. I think she liked the recipe because it tastes good, it’s pretty cheap, and it really easy. This was even before our family went vegan for awhile when I was a kid.

A couple of years ago, I bought the Veg-Feasting Cookbook from Vegetarians of Washington, and I noticed the German chocolate cake recipe from the Swan Café in Bellingham. It looks like a regular wacky cake, but there’s more cocoa in it. I think that’s the main difference; and the coconut pecan frosting and the chocolate ganache, of course.

I first made this cake for a birthday party for my friend, Aaron. I was the only vegan and besides Aaron there may have been one other vegetarian. But everyone loved it. So now it’s MY go-to chocolate cake. It’s written for 3 layers, but I’ve made it in a 9″x13″ pan, or divided it to make just one or two layers. Yum. 

B and cake knife

3 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    kneehigh said,

    Is that cake in Portobello RIGHT NOW? No reason… Just askin…

  2. 2

    kimmykokonut said,

    I too don’t see a need for anything other than whacky cakes. What are you censoring on your shirt?

    • 3

      valleyvegan said,

      Oh, it’s just an advertisement for Perfect organics. I don’t even know anything about the company, but I like little black tees.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a comment