Gingerbread Apple Pie

Our friend Harvey gave us some baking apples from his garden. I made a regular pie. Actually, it was the Brandy Apple Pie from Vegan Planet by Robin Robertson without the Brandy. And I used the Sweet Pastry Dough from Nonna’s Italian Kitchen by Bryanna Clark Grogan. But, it was mostly regular. It turned out really well and the apples were really tart. In a yummy eye-opening way. 

I didn’t have time to use the rest of the apples before we went to Amsterdam, so I just hoped they would be okay in the fridge until we returned. The looked and felt okay, so I proceeded.

Now, I’ve made this recipe before. It’s from Vegan with a Vengeance by Isa Chandra Moskowitz. I made it on Thanksgiving. Shane and I had been in Dublin about 3 weeks and I had very little in the way of kitchen accoutrement to play with. But the main thing I was lacking was an oven thermometer. The pie was edible, but the bottom crust was gooey. So I was apprehensive about trying again. But…

Pie

 

It turned out really well. And we’re eating our way through at a ridiculous rate. Thank you, oven thermometer.

3 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    kimmykokonut said,

    hooray for oven thermometers! there was an oven i worked with in peru that seriously would jump between 100 and 400 degrees F. it was SO difficult to bake anything. i’m proud of you for trying again.

  2. 2

    kneehigh said,

    Oh wow that looks delish!

  3. 3

    Kimberly said,

    That looks delicious! Time to pull out VWAV to see if that recipe will work for my Thanksgiving dinner next week.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

