A Day in the Life

So, here’s how it works:

Shane’s up at 7:30 and out the door at 7:45. I promptly fall back asleep until 10:30.

I drag myself out of bed, eat leftover curry or baked beans on toast or rice crispies and banana with soya milk.

 

THEN…..

I slouch around the apartment, flick on the telly for an hour or two, wrestle with the washing machine, look through adverts for used guitars online, eat too many biscuits, update my facebook, make elaborate plans for the next week of suppers, flip disinterestedly through the few books I have, and generally while away the hours until Shane gets home.

 

SOMETIMES….

I wander around town, look through shop windows, and typically come home with two full grocery bags.

 

It’s, uh, awesome.

 

Still jealous? Am I being too honest? Yeah. I get that a lot.

 

To be truly honest, Shane and I are growing to like Dublin more and more. I’m becoming very familiar with our neighborhood and I’m finding shops I really like. I’ve met a couple of pleasant people. Last night we found the only gaming shop in Dublin and got a new game.

 

 I almost forgot! Down on the canal there are a bunch of huge swans! I get a thrill every time I see them. They are so cool. I can’t stop and look too long, because they will think I’m going to feed them, but I love waving and grinning at them as I pass. It is unbearably adorable when they turn upside down to sift through the mud, with their butts and feet waving in the breeze. I knew ducks were great, but swans are awesome. 

dsc036071

 

duck-bottom2

 

Right now, I’m most looking forward to finding our ‘permanent’ apartment and finding work.

When I think about it, I should probably be relishing this lazy period of time, because I know once I get going, my days will be packed. But of course there’s that thing they always say about the grass…

 

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    kimmykokonut said,

    I see some blue sky in your picture! Glad to hear you are adjusting and cooking and being layz. Any knitting projects?

  2. 2

    Pamela said,

    Great pics – so glad to know how you’re faring. 🙂


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

