Applesauce, Marinara, and Pesto

Pesto!

Pesto!

Marinara!

Marinara!

...Applesauce...!

...Applesauce...!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Everything is kind of whirling around me. We’re clearing out and sorting the contents of our house, I’m making an effort to keep it clean constantly, in case anyone actually wants to come see it, and I’m feeling very transient. Shane and I made a boat load of applesauce the other day, and I canned 8 quarts and 6 pints of it 2 days later. Personally, I can’t recommend this. I mean, the waiting. Heating up super thick applesauce to 180 degrees while trying not to burn it or yourself is trying, to say the least. But, it is awesomely tasty. So, I guess the sperm-shaped burn on my arm is worth it?

The tomato plants are getting moldy and dying, and the tomatoes are refusing to ripen, so Shane harvested the last of them this week. I made marinara last night and put it in the crock-pot. I haven’t tasted it yet, but it was simmering for like 11 hours, so I trust it will be good.

I also harvested the last of the basil last night and made pesto. Whenever I make pesto, Shane says he could eat it on anything and then we go through the list of things he would, in fact, not want to eat with pesto. But I have to tell you, the list is not very long, and is mostly just desserts.

I’m in this weird spot where I need ingredients, but I don’t want to buy anything because I know if I don’t use it up in the next 6 days, I’ll have to throw it out or give it away. Hmph. I guess I still need olive oil, though…

I love making things from scratch and then having them around for months to come, but I really need to stop. Really. Anyone want some applesauce?

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    kimmykokonut said,

    I hear you on having things sitting around in the freezer ready for creative or lazy moments. You’ll get through your freezer. I tagged you to share the contents of yours. Let’s see how empty it’s becoming!

  2. 2

    Cherl said,

    It’s almost worth it to drive the 1000 miles through multiple mountain passes to collect homemade applesauce.

    or it might be worth it.

    I’ll see you tomorrow. 😉


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

