Finally, a travel date.

We’re leaving October 30. Leaving cats. Leaving garden. Leaving mom. Leaving church. Leaving a familiar bed. Can you tell I’m super excited and have no qualms whatsoever?

Yeah, so I’m starting to feel anxious. We still haven’t gotten the marketing stuff done for the house. I hope we get renters when we leave. I have to say, I’m loving getting rid of stuff. It’s almost as much fun as shopping. Almost.

Shane just heard that it’s going to take between 8-10 weeks for our shipment of stuff to arrive in Dublin. Uh, they told me 4-6 weeks. We’ll really be living simply, I suppose. Isn’t that what I wanted?

I’ve been thinking more about what I might do with my time while we are in Ireland. Shane has his work and knows what his schedule entails and basically what his work will be. I’m considering working in a restaurant, being a nanny, and/or going to school for music ed. I had this idea that it would be cool to join the Irish Military, just so I could say I was in the Irish Military, but Shane pointed out that you almost certainly have to be a citizen of the country to be in the military. So much for that bright idea.

What do I hope to experience/gain from this adventure?  I think it will be a beneficial challenge to operate without connections. Starting from scratch to find a job, learn a culture, make friends, start new hobbies. I want to start my next bout of schooling. I would like get involved in theatre. Maybe. I would like to join a choir, or start a band, or at least take music lessons. I want to take advantage of my proximity to the rest of Europe and travel.  If I’m honest with myself, I want to pick up an accent. I want to eat a lot, and I want to find people to knit/craft/cook/be vegan with.

What’s going to happen? Stay tuned…

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    kimmykokonut said,

    Congratulations! Clean starts are always hard but worth it. It will give you a new perspective on yourself, your relationship and more. Even though I didn’t love South America every minute I was there, I lerned so much about who I am and what my tolerances were in many ways (no plumping, lack of food variety, being sick). I’m excited for you; you’ll do just fine. You better come back with an accent. Maybe you can find some old Irish women to spin wool with on the hillsides among the fairies and elves. I’m jealous!

  2. 2

    Molly Davis said,

    Becca and Shane,
    Have a wonderful time in Ireland! I can’t wait to read all about your adventures there. I’ve always felt drawn to Ireland and its people. Hope it brings you great joy. And I hope you get back into theatre, Becca. You are an incredible actress! Have lots of fun! Write a lot!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

