Flurry of Beans

I find that I often want to use beans, but I don’t have the vareity I want in a can or in the freezer, so I use something else, or kick and berate myself for not soaking and cooking beans earlier. It’s very effective.

Well, now that we’re leaving, I’ve been going through my jars of beans and thinking about what I want to do with them. The other night I had 3 kinds of beans soaking in the refrigerator. A couple of days later, I cooked them, one variety at a time in my pressure cooker. I hope everyone knows how awesome these things are. I have one of the safe second generation ones, but I have to say, I think it’s pretty cool that pressure cookers have a rep for being unthinkably dangerous.

So, now I have Cannellini, Black, and Kidney Beans hanging out in my freezer or fridge. It is a comfortable feeling. Now, if I need to make a soup really fast, or fill in a mud puddle, or whip up a tasty veggie dip or bruise an intruder (they get rather firm in the freezer), I’m all set! Until we eat them all, and I”ll be right back where I started.

Congratulations, beans. I love you.

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    kimmykokonut said,

    Yay for beans! I too have been not on top of the soaking the night before, so I don’t eat as much as I should. I do not have the luxury of a pressure cooker, but I put mine in the crock pot to sit all day and theyh come out fine. Do you freeze them dry or in their liquid? Sounds like an ingenious idea, I always cook too much to eat before they start to “turn” on me.

  2. 2

    valleyvegan said,

    I rinse, drain, and cool them, and freeze them in little plastic containers, usually in 2 cup portions. Actually, this time I had so many, I froze them in a zipper bag. We’ll see how that goes.
    I used to use my crock pot for beans. It was good, just took time.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

