Truffles!

I got some really tasty truffles from Sidecar for Pigs Peace (the vegan grocery in Seattle), and while they were quite yummy, they were quite expensive. So I found a recipe on-line and made truffle yesterday. They’re easy, have only 4 ingredients, if you count water, and they taste great.  

I saw this exact recipe on a couple of sites. but this one had a nice picture and a story that included a food co-op, so here’s the link: 

http://foodisyummy42.blogspot.com/2006/01/jens-famous-vegan-truffles.html

I was gonna include the recipe, for those of you who don’t like clicking on hyper-links(?), but I’m uncertain about copyright stuff, so click you must.

Anyway, I used 1/2 cup cashews with 1/2 cup water, and 10 and 2/3 ounces of part bittersweet chocolate, and part semi-sweet chocolate chips. I dipped some of them in cocoa powder, and dipped (more like mashed violently) some in chopped almonds and pecans. They wouldn’t stick, at first. I ended up with 30ish.

I explained to Shane that we need to treat these differently than cookies (which we generally eat at a rate of 6-7 a day, per person), so I’m hoping they last a little while. 

Ummm, relevant pictures later. Shane took the camera to work. But maybe raccoons and hobbits would enjoy truffles, too. If the chocolate didn’t give them a heart-attack first.

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    kimmykokonut said,

    I want to make and eat these truffles. I’ve never tried it with cashew, only the soymilk/chocolate thiway.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

