Becca-made Tortillas

I wanted to make burritos for dinner. It’s pretty much our favorite food and we had quinoa to use up, half an avocado looking uglier by the minute, fresh tomatoes and cilantro in the garden, and refried beans. From a can. Huh.

Anyway, we didn’t have tortillas. Or at least, we didn’t have tortillas I wanted to eat and I certainly didn’t want to walk the 2 blocks to the grocery store…at least, not then.

So I found a recipe on ‘Texas Cooking’ from 10 years ago by Patricia Mitchell http://www.texascooking.com/features/sept98flourtortillas.htm. Her recipe for chewy flour tortillas called for 3/4 cup of milk, but I used 1/2 cup soy creamer and 1/4 cup water to replace the milk. I could have just used soymilk, but the current container we have tastes strongly of vanilla. Maybe I’ll make vanilla tortillas next time, but it didn’t appeal to me on Tuesday.

Anyway, the only thing that took any time was letting the dough rest at various stages. Otherwise, it was super easy and they tasted great. I have the inclination to think I may never buy tortillas again. But I’m sure I will.

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    kimmykokonut said,

    I need to try this recipe! How did you get them so thin?


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

