I wasn’t kidding

About being a slacker, that is.

                      So, here we are in November. I take a look around the decimated garden and start thinking about what vegetables we could grow next year that might still be producing this late in the fall: Beets, winter squash, parsnips, spinach, cabbage, daikon radish, potatoes.  Right now we have some brussels sprouts, that my hus actually likes eating, amazingly enough. We have some forlorn kale; well, it’s quite chipper, but due to a caterpillar issue and then mildewing, I have been scared away from it recently. We also have leeks, copious amounts of celery, a few carrots, mint, and oregano.

                  I’m just realizing that I need to be putting more effort into this venture than I have this year. Shane does all the work, currently, and he loves it out there, but I am really excited about our garden being a more substantial source of our food, so I need to stop relying on him so much.

                  I’ve been reading ‘The Omnivore’s Dilemma’ by Michael Pollan, and it’s making me think more about the meaning of organic, the importance of local food, and the need to train ourselves to eat with the seasons. This growing feeling also has a lot to do with my reading ‘Animal Vegetable Miracle’ by Barbara Kingsolver. On a side note, I loved Kingsolver’s book, but I found my feelings hurt a bit in a couple sections. She implies or states outright more than once that vegans and vegetarians are oblivious to the source of their food and that by choosing products that are heavily processed and created far away, they are doing more harm than if they were to support local growers of animal products, including meat. I got over my hurt feelings a little bit by the end of the book. I know veganism can make people feel defensive and feel as though they are being attacked or criticised.  However, her statements made me feel I was being unfairly judged by her sweeping generalizations. I consider myself to be very aware of the source of my food, and although I may not always use products that are created as close to home as possible, this is always a consideration as I shop.

                  Anyway, we’re enjoying our brussels sprouts and making plans for next spring’s crops.   I have visions of our fruit trees producing next year and definitely doing more canning and dehydrating. I’ve always had nostalgia for times when people were more self-sufficient and purchased few goods. It’s just a bit more difficult when the ‘easy’ option is so available. I guess this is my chance act out against our culture’s lack of self-discipline.

Leave a Reply

